University of Jammu celebrates 76th Independence Day

The 76th Independence Day of India, was celebrated at the University of Jammu with patriotic fervour and zeal. A sizable gathering of teaching faculty, officers, staff, students and scholars of the University of Jammu participated in the function. Prof. Umesh Rai, Vice-Chancellor, University of Jammu hoisted the National Flag and released tri-colour balloons at the Fountain Plaza. Prof. Rai, while greeting the University fraternity, spoke about the spirit of nationalism, integrity, peace and brotherhood. On the occasion, he and other dignitaries paid tribute to Sri Aurobindo, a great Indian philosopher, yoga guru, maharishi, poet, and nationalist on his 150th Birth Anniversary.

In his address, Prof. Rai offered salutations to all the freedom fighters, as it is only because of their struggle and sacrifice, we are enjoying freedom today. He also narrated a brief journey and lessons of Sri Aurobindo and Sri Maa and cited their relevance in today’s India. On witnessing the vibrant cultural performances by the wards of university employees and students of the university, he lauded their brilliant performance. He also congratulated the Dean Students Welfare and his entire team for organizing such a wonderful programme.

Earlier in his welcome address, Dean of Students Welfare, Prof. Prakash Antahal informed about the initiatives taken by the University in connection with the celebrations of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav. He also informed about the new ventures of the Department of Students Welfare which is being organized to benefit all the stakeholders of the university.

Prominent amongst those who attended the Flag Hoisting Ceremony included Prof. Manoj K. Dhar (Former Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu) Prof. Naresh Padha (Dean Academic Affairs), Prof. Arvind Jasrotia (Registrar), Prof. Rajeev Rattan Sharma, (Director CDC), Prof. Neelu Rohmetra (Director DDE), Prof. Neeru Sharma (Convener NSS Campus Units), Prof. Vishav Raksha (Chairperson Campus Cultural Committee), Prof Sanjana Kaul (Co-Chairperson Campus Cultural Committee)  Deans, Rectors, Directors, members of Campus Cultural Committee, representatives of the elected bodies of the University.

On the occasion, the Guard of Honour was presented to the Vice Chancellor by the University Security Contingent led by Capt. S.R. Dubey. Those who presented colourful cultural items included Shruti Raina, Sahida, Keshav Veer Sharma, Nandani Sharma, Aashita Majotra, Bhavya Majotra, Yakshita Singh, Shiva, Simra, Pavit Singh, Khushi Verma, Nazia Rashid, Geetanshu Sharma, Arti Devi, Shiva Sharma, Varchasva Sharma, S.S. Ruquayat, Sanorita, Deeksha Sharma, Aahil Sharma, Kashwin, Yasir Pathan, Simran Kapoor, Vidita Sudan, Renu Devi, Paramjeet Singh, Munza Bano, Reema, Mandeep Kaur, Arjun Singh and Meenu.

Prof. Vishav Raksha presented the vote of thanks and Dr Hema Gandotra conducted the programme. The whole event was organized under the stewardship of Prof. Prakash Antahal, and Prof. Vishav Raksha. The event was monitored by Prof. Sanjana Kaul, Dr Anil Gupta (Associate Dean SW), Dr Garima Gupta and Dr Pritam Singh (Assistant Deans SW), Dr A. R. Manhas and Dr Shallu Sharma (Dy. Proctors), Ms Mansi Mantoo (Media Officer) Mr Sumeet Sharma (Drama Instructor) and Mr R.S. Bandral (Sr. P.A. to DSW). The management was looked after by Kulbhushan Thakur, Balwant Singh and Arif Paul.