Programmes / Courses Offered:- 

  • M.Sc. (Chemistry) 
  • Ph.D.


M.Sc. (Chemistry)

Each year, 40 students including open and category are admitted in first semester. In addition five students are admitted in self financing seats category. In each semester, we have about 45 students in Masters Degree Programme (MDP).

Under Choice Based Credit System, Course Nos. PSCHTC121 to PSCHTC124 & PSCHLC125 are compulsory for 1st semester students; Course Nos. PSCHTC221 to PSCHTC224 & PSCHLC225 are compulsory for 2nd semester students;

Course Nos. PSCHTC321 is compulsory for 3rd semester students. There are three specializations for the 3rd semester students - Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry and Physical Chemistry. Each student has to take two theory Courses [from Course Nos. PSCHTE322 to PSCHTE323 in Inorganic Chemistry, PSCHTE324 to PSCHTE325 in Organic Chemistry and PSCHTE326 to PSCHTE327 in Physical Chemistry] and one laboratory Course [from PSCHLE328 (Inorganic Chemistry), PSCHLE329 (Organic Chemistry) and PSCHLE330 (Physical Chemistry)]. In addition, each student has to complete 4-credit MOOC Course [PSCHTE351] under SWAYAM program.

There are three specializations for the 4th semester students - Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry and Physical Chemistry. Each student has to take three theory Courses [from Course Nos. PSCHTE421 to PSCHTE423 in Inorganic Chemistry, PSCHTE424 to PSCHTE426 in Organic Chemistry and PSCHTE427 to PSCHTE429 in Physical Chemistry] and one Project Work Course [from PSCHDE431 (Inorganic Chemistry), PSCHDE432 (Organic Chemistry) and PSCHDE433 (Physical Chemistry)]. Each student also has to opt one open choice course of 4-credits from other departments [Course No. PSCHTO430 of 4-credits is available for students from other Departments].

The credits to be earned from the Department is 88, whereas 04 credits are to be earned from MOOC Course and 04 credits from Open Course offered by other Departments (Total number of credits to be earned : 96).

The changes in the syllabus of Post Graduate Course in Chemistry were adopted from 2014 session onwards as per Choice Based Credit System which were revised in 2017. The syllabus is being reviewed under Curriculum Reforms Workshop held on 10-14 May, 2019.

Name Designation Qualification Specialization Contact Info.
Prof. H.N. Sheikh Professor & HOD M.Sc., Ph.D Coordination Chemistry, Coordination Polymers, Material Chemistry, Nanomaterials E-mail: hnsheikh@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419148792
Prof. Meena Sharma Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D Material Science, Solution Chemistry E-mail: mlakhanpal89@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419184645
Prof. S.K. Pandey Professor M.Sc., Ph.D Dithiophosphate Chemistry, Heterometallcyclophosphazene Chemistry, Flourine Chemistry pertaining to the Synthesis of CFC's Alternatives & Electrochemical Fluorination, Phosphazene Chemistry, Metallo-orgamic Chemistry E-mail: kpsushil@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419147679
Prof. Kamal K. Kapoor Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D Organic Synthesis, Green Chemistry, Synthesis of Un-natural Amino Acids, Medicinal Chemistry E-mail:; kamalkka@gmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419134807
Prof. Satya Paul Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Heterogeneous catalysis, Green chemistry, Synthesis of Bio-active Heterocycles E-mail: paul7@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419147677
Prof. Devinder Singh Sambyal Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Solid State and Materials Chemistry, Perovskite Oxides, Ruddlesden-Popper Phases, Spinal and Inverse Spinel Ferrites, Pyrochlores E-mail: drdssambyal@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419244710
Dr. Monika Gupta Associate Professor M.Sc, Ph. D Organic Chemistry, Heterogeneous Catalysis, Green Chemistry, Ionic Liquids, Synthesis of Bioactive Heterocycles E-mail: monika.gupta77@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419623841
Dr. Ashwani Kumar Assistant Professor M.Sc., Ph.D Solution Chemistry, Biomolecules in Solutions E-mail: ashwani.kalsi@gmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419860841