University Council

Pursuant to the provisions of sub-section (1) of the Section 21 of the Kashmir and Jammu Universities Act 1969.

University Council for the triennial period 2021-2024

Ex-Officio Members:-

  • The Chancellor
  • The Pro-Chancellor
  • The Education Minister
  • The Vice-Chancellor, University of Jammu
  • The Vice-Chancellor, University of Kashmir
  • The Pro-Vice-Chancellor, if any
  • The Administrative Secretary to Government Planning and Development Department
  • The Financial Advisor
  • The Education Advisor to the Govt. or the Officer designated by the  Govt. to the Incharge of Higher Education

Members Nominated by the Chancellor:-

a) Two Deans of the Faculties of the  University:

  • Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Jammu 
  • Dean, Faculty of Medical Sciences & Principal, Govt. Medical College Jammu

b) One Principal of an affiliated/ constituted College of the University:

  • Principal, Govt. Degree College, Samba

c) Two members of the teaching staff belonging either to the University or its Constituent/ affiliated Colleges:

  • President, Jammu University Teachers Association (JUTA)
  • President, College Teacher Association (CTA), Jammu Wing

d) Two Nominees of the Chancellor:

  • Prof. Alok Kumar Rai, Vice Chancellor Lucknow University
  • Prof. A.K Kaul, Department of Sociology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi