## Department of Students Welfare University of Jammu

No.: |DSW|22/3284-3Dated: 28/11/22

All Heads of the Departments/Rectors/Directors Offsite Campuses, University of Jammu.

All Principals of the Affiliated Colleges, University of Jammu.

Sub.: Annual Veeranna Aivalli Memorial Debate on 15th December, 2022.

Sir/Madam,

The Department of Students Welfare, University of Jammu in collaboration with Indian Institute of Public Administration J&K Regional Branch is organising the Annual Veeranna Aivalli Memorial Debate for the students of the colleges and University departments on 15<sup>th</sup> December, 2022 at 9:30 am at Brigadier Rajinder Singh Auditorium, University of Jammu.

Participants shall report at 9 am at the venue on 15<sup>th</sup> December, 2022. The topic for the 21<sup>st</sup> Veeranna Aivalli Memorial debate for the year 2022 is:

In the opinion of the House, "pre-poll freebies is a misuse of taxpayers money and hampers the financial sustainability"

सदन की राय में "चुनाव से पहले की गयी मुफ्त उपहारों की घोषणा करदाताओं के धन का दुरूपयोग है तथा यह वितीय स्थिरता को बाधित करता है"

## The prizes for the winners are as under:

First Prize: Rs. 7000 Second Prize: Rs. 5000 Third Prize: Rs. 3000 Consolation Prize: Rs. 1000 In this connection, you are requested to nominate one team of 2 students from your department to participate in above mentioned event. The nominations shall reach at the office of Dean Students Welfare by 9<sup>th</sup> December, 2022. The same may be mailed at <a href="mailto:dswjammuuniversity@gmail.com">dswjammuuniversity@gmail.com</a>. No late entry would be accepted.

## The rules for the event are:

- 1. Each Department/Institution/College shall be represented by maximum two students. One shall speak FOR and other AGAINST the Motion. No Individual entry shall be entertained.
- 2. Each participant shall be given maximum 4 minutes to speak. The warning bell shall sound after 3 minutes and the final bell after 4 minutes.
- 3. The participants may speak either in Hindi, Urdu or English.
- 4. The Competitors with written speeches shall not be eligible.
- 5. The decision of the Judges shall be final.
- 6. Naming any political Party will result in disqualification
- 7. No T.A./D.A. shall be given to the participants and Teachers incharge.

Thanking you.
Yours sincerely,

(**Prof. Prakash Antahal**)
Dean Students Welfare
University of Jammu