

Jammu, 26th of January, 2025 University of Jammu celebrates 76th Republic Day.

The 76th Republic Day of India, was celebrated at the University of Jammu with patriotic fervour and zeal. A sizable gathering of teaching faculty, officers, staff, students and scholars of University of Jammu participated in the function. Prof. Umesh Rai, Vice-Chancellor, University of Jammu unfurled the National Flag and released tricolour balloons at the Fountain Plaza. Prof. Rai, while greeting the University fraternity, spoke about the spirit of nationalism, integrity, peace and brotherhood. In his address, Prof. Rai offered salutations to all the freedom fighters. He also informed about some of the landmark initiatives of the University of Jammu

On witnessing the vibrant cultural performances by the wards of university employees and students of the university, he lauded their brilliant performance. He also congratulated Dean Students Welfare and his entire team for organizing such a wonderful programme.

Earlier in his welcome address, Dean Students Welfare, Prof. Prakash Antahal informed about the new ventures of the Department of Students Welfare which are being organized for the benefit of all the stakeholders of the university.

Prominent amongst those who attended the Flag Hoisting Ceremony included Prof. Anju Bhasin (Dean Academic Affairs), Prof. Meena Sharma (Dean Planning & Development), Prof. Neelu Rohmetra (Dean Research Studies), Dr. Neeraj Sharma (Registrar), Prof. Rajeev Rattan Sharma, (Director CDC), Monika Chadha (Chairperson Campus Cultural Committee), Prof. Sarika Manhas (Co-Chairperson Campus Cultural Committee), Deans, Rectors, Directors, members of Campus Cultural Committee, representatives of the elected bodies of the University.

On the occasion, the Guard of Honour was presented to the Vice Chancellor by the University Security Contingent and NCC Cadets. Those who presented colourful cultural items included Shiva, Ayaansh Mahajan, Kavish, Irfaan Ahmed, Tania, Aradhya, Bhoomi, Purnima, Prapti, Ajay, Mohd. Uzair, Komal Sharma, Kamakhya Bhardwaj and Pavit Singh

The event was followed by the Valedictory Function of Abhivyakti-2025, a cultural extravaganza for University Employees.

Prof. Monika Chadha presented the vote of thanks. The programme was conducted by Sumeet Sharma. The whole event was organized under the stewardship of Prof. Prakash Antahal and was monitored by Prof. Monika Chadha, Dr. Sarika Manhas Co- Campus Cultural Committee, Dr. Pritam Singh (Associate Dean SW), Dr. Shallu Sharma and Dr. A. R. Manhas (Dy. Chief Proctors), Dr. Harleen Kaur & Dr. Ripudaman Parihar (Assistant Deans SW), Ms Mansi Mantoo (Officer Incharge, SW), Capt. S.R. Dubey (Chief Security Officer) Mr. Sumeet Sharma (Drama Instructor) & Ifra Kak (Cultural Officer). The management was looked after by Kulbhushan Thakur, Balwant Singh, Arif Paul. Sachin Sharma, Jatinder Singh, R.P. Singh and Jasbir Singh.