## 5<sup>th</sup> September, 2019.

## 15th National Youth Parliament Competition organized at JU

The Department of Students Welfare, University of Jammu organized 15th National Youth Parliament Competition today at Gen. Zorawar Singh Auditorium under the aegis of Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Govt. of India. Sh. Bratin Sengupta Ex MP (Rajya Sabha), Prof. Ashok Aima, Vice-Chancellor Central University of Jammu and Sh. A.B. Acharya, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs were the Jury Members and Dr. Vijay Saigal, Dept. of Law, University of Jammu was the coordinator of 15th National Youth Parliament Competition 2019. Sh. Bratin Sengupta, Ex MP appreciated the participants for their wonderful and fluent performance as their confidence was reflecting the hard work they have put in to make this event successful and the essence of Parliament was visible in their presentation. Prof Ashok Aima lauded the efforts and the execution of the proceedings of the Parliament by the students. He termed it as a strong narration on the relevant topics by talented students. Dr. Meenakshi Kilam, Registrar, University of Jammu complemented the students and the coordinators for such a brilliant performance which was indeed an eye-opener for the students. Sh. A. B. Acharya remarked that this is one of the efficiently organized Youth Parliament Sitting by the students he has witnessed. He praised the topics selected in discussion in the youth parliament. Different proceedings of the parliament like Oath taking, Obituary Reference, Introduction of New Ministers, Question Hour, Breach of Privilege, Papers laid, Message from Upper Chamber, Welcoming Foreign Delegates, Calling Attention Motion and Legislative Business were very effectively presented by the students of different departments of the University of Jammu within the stipulated time period of 55 minutes.

Earlier, Prof. Jasbir Singh, Dean Students Welfare, in his welcome address, apprised about the idea behind conducting such programmes. He informed that the Department of Students Welfare is always keen to organize such events of great utility for the students. Dr. Vijay Saigal explained in detail

the idea behind organizing youth parliament programme throughout the country. Prof. Anupama Vohra, Co-Chairman Campus Cultural Committee presented the formal vote of thanks. Oshin Bakshi, Shikha Jamwal, Shazia Bano, Sophia Habib, Romika Thakur, Madima, Sidharth Jamwal and Parul Sharma were selected for the Best Speakers awards. The event was conducted by Seerat Baji. The hall management was looked after by Mehak ans Tabia. The programme was coordinated by Sumeet Sharma and Ifra Kak.

The students who participated in the Youth Parliament competition included Oshin Bakshi, Sidharth Jamwal, Nitika Singh, Megha Rani, Shikha Jamwal, Romika Thakur , Parul Sharma, Arti Devi, Madima, Niti Salgotra, Akshay Kumar, Sunny Singh, Nikher Jandyal, Shyam Kumar, Rameshwar Singh Thakur, Vishal Sardhalia, Sophia Habib, Taniya Razak, Ridha Tavleen kaur, Shazia Bano, Kajal Zainab, Pathania, Kamalpreet Singh, Rohit Charbathia, Nitan, Abhaydeep Singh Bali, Manik Bansotra, Gupta, Aggarwal, Poonam Anmol Vikas Budhoria, Rahul Jamwal, Raghav Langar, Siddharth Jandial, Jattan Singh Gill, Arshwardhak Katoch, Krishan Dinkar Sharma, Ram Kumar, Amar Kumar, Pankaj Jasathia, Sehar Choudary, Sanchit Gupta, Ankita Bhat, Ashish Sharma, Nikita Bharti, Sunil Singh Bhau, Shruti Arora, Tarun Singh, Pranav Sharma, Dheeraj, Misba Atiq, Harshain Upadhyay, Sidharth Sumbria, Abhishek Chopra, Abhinandan Salgotra and Nishu Sudan. The event was witnessed by faculty members, members of Campus Cultural Committee, staff and students of the University of Jammu.